The PBC Awards

Our PBC Awards Programme encourages the development of innovative projects which aim to improve the lives of people living with primary biliary cholangitis (PBC).

We have already supported projects over three award cycles, with projects including learning platforms for physicians, peer-to-peer support analyses, cost-effective platforms to link patients through existing national frameworks, analyses of existing data to identify those undiagnosed, educational apps for the patient community, and many more!

Launched in 2016, Practice to Policy® supports local, innovative ideas that form a basis for best practice, which can be adapted more broadly. At its heart, Practice to Policy® is about sharing learnings that inspire change – what worked well, what didn’t, and what can we learn as an entire community to inform care. The projects supported under this programme are independent of the use of any particular therapeutic agent. Applications will be admitted according to the eligibility criteria given below.

The Europe and Canada Practice to Policy® Health Awards Programme is endorsed by the European Association for the Study of the Liver (EASL).

Sharing best practice.

Eligibility criteria for 2019: Collaborative care

The Practice to Policy® Health Awards Programme in primary biliary cholangitis (PBC) encourages the development of innovative projects, which are designed to improve the lives of people living with PBC.

In 2019, we are focusing on local and national projects that pioneer collaborative care between healthcare professionals and people living with PBC. Specifically, we are seeking projects that:


Create tools or platforms that enable or encourage timely monitoring of patients
Provide resources to improve the dialogue between people living with PBC and their healthcare professional
Encourage collaborative care in PBC, e.g. through the appropriate use of existing or emerging best practice guidelines

In 2019, Intercept will fund between six to eight new innovative projects, with no one application being greater than €25,000 (or local currency equivalent).


In addition to this, and new for 2019, Intercept will provide up to three additional funding awards (up to €15,000 or local currency equivalent) to projects which replicate previous Practice to Policy® winners.


How can you get involved?

1. Prepare

Our application guide includes all details you need to know around eligibility, eligible countries, different types of funding, and additional information on the application process.

2. Apply

The submission window for 2019 applications opens in May! From then, you will have until 8 September 2019 to submit your project application.

3. Judging

When the application window closes, our expert judges come together and review all applications. The team of judges will use a set of criteria to evaluate whether a project should receive an award.

4. Awards

We will announce the 2019 winning projects in January 2020. All groups will be notified of the outcome of their application via email and funding will be provided in 2020.


In the meantime, why not check out our resources to support your application?

5. Best Practice

If you are selected for a Practice to Policy®  award, there will be additional opportunities to share your experiences, to meet fellow applicants, share best practice, and learn from other winners.